Advanced search

New York - Consulat Général du Luxembourg > News > New Travel Restrictions >

New Travel Restrictions

Published Wednesday September 22 2021

Restrictions apply with regard to persons authorized to enter Luxembourg.

Citizens of the European Union and of the countries associated with the Schengen area, as well as citizens of San Marino, Andorra, Monaco and the Vatican/Saint See, are free to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, regardless of the purpose of the stay and not only to return to their homes.

Third-country nationals may no longer enter the territory of the Grand Duchy until 31 December 2021 (inclusive), except in one of the following cases: 

  • If they are residents of the following third-countries, Special administrative regions and entities and territorial authorities not recognized as States by at least one Member State of the European Union:

    • States
      • Australia
      • Bosnia and Herzegovina
        • Hong Kong SAR
        • Macao SAR
      • Entities and territorial authorities not recognized as States by at least one Member State of the European Union
        • Taiwan
    • Or if their travel is considered essential
    • Or if they hold a certificate proving a complete vaccination pattern that is considered equivalent in Luxembourg 

    It should be noted that from 1 January 2021, these restrictions also apply to third-country nationals residing in the United Kingdom, including UK nationals who do not fall under the provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement  .

    For any person, aged 12 years or older, authorized to enter Luxembourg (regardless of nationality), it is compulsory to present, before boarding a flight to Luxembourg

    • either a vaccination certificate attesting to a complete vaccination pattern (see FAQ) carried out with a vaccine that has been authorized for use by the European Medicines Agency, issued by a public or medical authority of a Member State of the European Union or of a Member State of the Schengen Area, or a vaccination certificate, issued by a third country, attesting to a complete vaccination pattern and considered as equivalent in Luxembourg in accordance with Article 3bis of the amended law of 17 July 2020 on measures to combat the COVID-19 pandemic (this currently applies to certificates issued by the following countries or territories: Albania, Andorra, Faroe Islands, Israel, Morocco, Monaco, Panama, Republic of North Macedonia, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican)
    • or a recovery certificate issued by a practitioner or national authority of an EU Member State or Schengen Area Member State for persons who have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 6 months prior to travel and who have completed the applicable isolation period in the respective country with resolution of all symptoms of infection
    • or the negative result (on paper or electronically) of a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 viral RNA (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods) carried out less than 72 hours before the flight or of a SARS-CoV-2 rapid antigen test carried out less than 48 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other entity authorized for this purpose. The negative result of the test must be presented, if necessary accompanied by a translation, in one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or in English, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese

    This applies to all departures to Luxembourg, including those from Member States of the European Union or the Schengen area.



    The following categories of third-country nationals are allowed to enter Luxembourg:

    1. third-country nationals who have long-term resident status as well as any other persons with a right of residence or holding a long-term national visa issued by an EU Member State or a Schengen country;
    2. healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
    3. cross-border workers;
    4. seasonal workers in agriculture;
    5. transport personnel;
    6. diplomats, staff of international organizations and people invited by international organizations whose physical presence is required for the well-functioning of these organizations, military personnel, development cooperation personnel, humanitarian aid workers and civil protection personnel in the exercise of their functions;
    7. passengers in transit;
    8. passengers travelling for imperative and duly justified family reasons;
    9. seafarers;
    10. persons wishing to apply for international protection or for protection for other humanitarian reasons in Luxembourg;
    11. third-country nationals travelling for the purpose of study;
    12. highly qualified third-country workers if their employment is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed from abroad.

    The persons referred to in points 8°, 11° and 12° of the categories of persons listed above must have a specific travel certificate. To this end, they must make an express request to be sent by e-mail either to

    -          Passport, Visa and Legalization Office:

    -          Embassy of Luxembourg in Washington, DC :

    -          General Consulate of Luxembourg in New York:

    -          General Consulate of Luxembourg in San Francisco:

    More information will be available beginning September 22 on the following website: